lucia was born 4.5 months ago and i am still in the middle of processing my pregnancy, her birth and our new life. it’s been hard for me to put it all into words – the things God has been doing in our life – but i hope to – soon. writing is so cathartic for me – it always has been – you can ask my mom. i’ve been writing stories since i was in first grade- yes, i was this dramatic even back then. 🙂 i’ve been so hesistant to write for so many years, but i’ve finally come to the realization that no matter how poor i think my writing is – it’s the only way i know how to express how i feel and deal with my emotions. and, if you don’t know this already, i’m quite the emotional girl. but! please don’t confuse my writing for a depressed state of mind. i just love to write with abandon and passion. that’s the way i’ve always been. and that’s why this blog exists (and because my sweet husband always encourages me to write).

and so, this sweet little girl lucia – was born and our world, my world, was shaken. her entry was dramatic and her life a daily reminder of God’s sovereignty and provision. i’d love to share with you – in words – how deeply this child has impacted my heart. but for now, while i figure out what words to use…i leave you with pictures…

 

isabella and i in her new big girl bed waiting for lucia to arrive

lucia is born via emergency c-section on 11.11.10. she weighed 4 lbs 3 oz. and measured 17.5 inches long. she was immediately put on oxygen…

this is the first time i saw Lucia while they sewed me up after my c-section…

in the nicu after her nasal canula was removed the first time

one of the best moments of my life: finally getting to hold lucia after almost 4 days since she was born

(yes, that is her entire tiny head in my hand)


lucia with her feeding tube, nasal canula and sock mittens…

we walked into the nicu one day and much to our surprise lucia was out of her incubator – no canula; no feeding tube! she was saying “wassuuup mommy and daddy!”

changing her diaper for the first time…

lucia’s first day home: november 20, 2011 weighing 4 lbs 2 oz

isabella loving on her little sister…

me and my girls

lucia today in her bumbo weighing in at 10 lbs 10 oz. as they say…”you’ve come a long way, baby!”

happy girl!

