i spoke with the surgeon yesterday and today. he confirmed that lucia’s nissen is loose and needs to be revised via surgery, but the plan right now is to give lucia’s previous feeding schedule and calorie intake another chance over the weekend to see if the vomiting has improved. right now lucia is on continuous 24 hour feeding with minimal calorie formula. the surgeon thinks its worth a try to see if her vomiting has improved or even if she has been healed from it. if she is still throwing up, then monday we will set a date for surgery in the very near future. if she is not throwing up, then a miracle has taken place – so please ask God for that!

this morning, i took lucia to the pediatrician to check out a random fever she woke up with and to get her caught up on a vaccine. i felt especially emotional today – tearing up as i talked to the nurses which, by the way, makes them noticeably awkward and uncomfortable. if you ever want to see somebody squirm just cry a little in front of them; start talking to them about your child’s genetic disease and you’ll have them in fetal position in no time. i used to feel embarrassed by my sudden bursts of emotion, but it’s slowly starting to lose it’s awkward factor for me. anyway, when i got in my car to leave, i checked my email and saw that  my sweet friend, laurie, sent me an email with a video of a song by mercy me called “the hurt and the healer”.  i’d never heard it before and thought i’d get home and immediately listen to it. well, much to my surprise, i turned on my car and guess what was playing on the radio?!! “when doves cry” by prince. i kid, i kid – it was the exact song laurie had just sent me via email!! this led me to immediately call laurie and tell her what a crazy thing had just happened and i even got to have a wonderful conversation with her! this song really touched my heart today (thank you laurie!). i figure it would be nice for all of you to hear it and perhaps it will touch your heart and lift your spirits as well. (you can find the lyrics beneath the video)

my favorite part of the song:

Jesus come and break my fear
Awake my heart and take my tears
Find Your glory even here
When the hurt and the healer collide


 

“The Hurt & The Healer”

Why?
The question that is never far away
The healing doesn’t come from the explained
Jesus please don’t let this go in vain
You’re all I have
All that remainsSo here I am
What’s left of me
Where glory meets my sufferingI’m alive
Even though a part of me has died
You take my heart and breathe it back to life
I’ve fallen into Your arms open wide
When the hurt and the healer collideBreathe
Sometimes I feel it’s all that I can do
Pain so deep that I can hardly move
Just keep my eyes completely fixed on You
Lord take hold and pull me through

So here I am
What’s left of me
Where glory meets my suffering

I’m alive
Even though a part of me has died
You take my heart and breathe it back to life
I’ve fallen into your arms open wide
When the hurt and the healer collide

It’s the moment when humanity
Is overcome by majesty
When grace is ushered in for good
And all the scars are understood
When mercy takes its rightful place
And all these questions fade away
When out of the weakness we must bow
And hear You say “It’s over now”

I’m alive
Even though a part of me has died
You take my heart and breathe it back to life
I’ve fallen into your arms open wide
When The hurt and the healer collide

Jesus come and break my fear
Awake my heart and take my tears
Find Your glory even here
When the hurt and the healer collide [x2]

Jesus come and break my fear
Awake my heart and take my tears
Find Your glory even here

